Nepal win wheelchair cricket title


Kathmandu :

Nepal defeated Bangladesh by 54 runs to win the title of the first International Wheelchair Cricket Tournament here at the TU Stadium today.

Put into bat first, Nepal scored 160-3 in their allotted 20 overs and packed the visitors for 106 runs in 18.2 overs.

Nepal posted a mammoth total after openers Digam Chemjong Limbu and Nabin Rai shared a partnership of 149 runs in 18 overs. Limbu scored a quick fire 62-ball 79 not out hitting 10 boundaries, while Rai struck eight fours in his 52-ball 59. Limbu was later named the man of the match.

Bangladesh’s Ripon Uddin claimed two wickets, while Morshed Alam took one.

In reply, Bipin Paudyal rattled Bangladesh’s top order when he bowled out Mohammad Methu (six) and skipper Mohammad Mohasin (naught) in the third and fifth balls of the third over with just 11 runs on the board.

The visitors failed to recover and kept losing wickets at regular interval. At one stage, they were reduced to 56-5 inside 12th over. Morshed Alam top scored for Bangladesh with 20 off 28 balls hitting three fours, while Uzzal Bairagi (17) and Rajon Hossain (11) were the other players who scored in double figures. Nepal’s Bipin Paudyal claimed 3-13, while Bishnu Adhikari, Ram Bahadur Tamang and Himal Aryal took one wicket each.

Meanwhile, Nepali players also clean swept individual awards. Digam Chemjong Limbu was adjudged the player of the tournament, while Nabin Rai won the best batsman’s award. Bipin Paudyal was declared the best bowler and Raju Gurung was the best wicketkeeper. The winners, runners-up and individual best players received trophies and medals.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista handed over the prizes to winners. Nepal, Bangladesh and India competed in the tri-series organised by Wheelchair Cricket Association Nepal.

Published : 17 December 2017 , 4 : 45 am