Voters throng polling centres to cast ballots for 2nd phase polls



Clad in headgears, scarves and warm winter clothes, tens of thousands of voters are assembled at the polling centres across 45 districts that go to crucial polls today. The polls will open at 7 am amidst tight security.

The day’s elections will effectively end Nepal’s prolonged peace process, and elect seven provincial assemblies as the country transitions fully into a federal democratic republic.

From among the 12.2 million voters from the 45 districts that have been registered to vote, over a good 75% are expected cast their ballots to elect 128 of the 165 representatives to the lower chamber of federal parliament, the House of Representatives.

The polls will also elect 256 of the 330 members of the provincial assemblies.

The House of Representatives consists of 275 members. Of them, 165 are elected directly under the First-Past-the-Post (FPtP) system while the remaining 110 come through Proportional Representation (PR) system.

The provincial assemblies comprise a total of 550 representatives – 330 elected under FPtP & 220 under PR.

Big three in contest

Meanwhile, the top leaders of three major parties are also contesting in the election to secure space in the House of Representatives.

President of Nepali Congress and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is contesting from his home district Dadeldhura while UML chairman KP Sharma Oli is a Jhapa-5 candidate. Likewise, CPN-Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal had filed his candidacy from Chitwan-3, where he is contesting for parliamentary elections for the first time since his landing into mainstream politics.

Published: December 07, 2017 7:21 am