KP Oli elected new Prime Minister of Nepal


KATHMANDU, October 11, 2015: KP Sharma Oli has been elected the new Prime Minister of Nepal today. Of total 587 Members of Parliament 338 votes were cast in favour of Oli while his contestant Sushil Koirala got 249 votes.  Speaker Subash Chandra Newang announced Oli’s name as 38 th PM of Nepal. 

CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli has been elected the new Prime Minister of Nepal, following the promulgation of the new constitution of federal republic Nepal. 
In a voting for the post of the Prime Minister held at the Legislature-Parliament today, Oli won with a total of 338 votes, out of the total 587 votes cast. The total existing number of parliamentarians is 597. 
The second candidate in the fray, Sushil Koirala, President of Nepali Congress and outgoing Prime Minister bagged a total of 249 votes. 
The votes CPN-UML Chair received include 183 of his own party, 83 from UCPN (Maoist), 25 from RPP Nepal and 14 from Madheshi Janadhikar Forum-Democratic. Likewise, 12 from RPP, 5 from CPN-ML, 3 from Rastriya Janamorcha, 2 from Nepal Pariwar Dal, 2 from Rastriya Janamukti Party, one each from Madhesh Samata Party Nepal, Nepa Rastriya Party and CPN-United also came in favour of leader Oli. 
Elected from constituency no. 7 of Jhapa, 64-year-old Oli becomes the 38th Prime Minister of Nepal. 
Speaker of the Legislature-Parliament Subas Nembang announced the result, while also congratulating Mr Oli for being elected to the post of the new Prime Minister of Federal Democratic Republican Nepal. 
The next meeting of the Legislature-Parliament will be held at 3:00 pm tomorrow. RSS