President Bhandari receives election certificate



The Election Commission has presented President Bidya Devi Bhandari with certificate establishing her win in the election to the post of President.

Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav handed over the certificate of election to President Bhandari at Rastrapati Bhawan, Shital Niwas, Kathmandu, on Tuesday evening itself. On the occasion, Dr Yadav congratulated President Bhandari on her re-election and wished her a successful term.

President Bhandari had emerged victorious with an overwhelming majority and was re-elected for a second new term of office in the elections held on Tuesday.

President Bhandari won the election by a margin of 27,545 votes after securing 39,275 votes, while NC lawmaker Kumari Laxmi Rai of Nepali Congress received 11,730 votes.

The weightage of one vote of Federal Parliament member was equivalent to 79. President Bhandari received 245 votes from among the National Assembly and House of Representatives members, which translates into aggregate vote-weightage of 19,355. On the other hand, her contender Rai received 78 votes, with aggregate vote-weightage of 6,162 votes.

Likewise, President Bhandari got 415 votes from the provincial level. With the vote-weightage standing at 48 per vote, Bhandari received 19,920 votes. Rai got 116 votes that is a vote-weightage of 5,568. A total of 52,501 vote weightage was maintained for election to the President. Three votes of federal parliament and five of provincial level were termed invalid. A total of 326 votes were cast in the federal parliament and 536 votes in the provincial parliament.

Published: March 14, 2018 12:07 pm